Navigating the Organization Settings Page

Edited

The Organization Settings tab is only visible to Account Admins of Teams pricing plans. Organization settings establish the default rules for your workspace, but some features may follow more specific team, role, or user-level settings when those settings are designed to take precedence.

  • Organization settings are the default and apply across the board unless overridden.

  • Team or role-level settings can take precedence for certain settings, such as external recording visibility.

  • User-level settings may also apply in some cases, depending on the feature's enforcement rules (i.e., if users are allowed to choose).

Recording

Auto-Capture Meetings

Auto-Capture determines if Fathom automatically captures meetings of a specific type (External, Internal, Unscheduled), or lets users choose for themselves. Note: Even with Auto-Capture set to “off” users can still capture meetings manually. This setting only prevents Fathom from capturing automatically on join.

You have the option to set the organization’s Auto-capture default to On, Off, or Optional, so Fathom knows whether to start capturing automatically when joining External, Internal and Unscheduled meetings.

For more information about Auto-Capture settings — including the how External, Internal, and Unscheduled Meetings are defined as well as how Organization and Team settings work together — please refer to our article on Manage Auto-Capture and Team Visibility Settings.

Single Bot per Meeting

Toggle this on to prevent multiple Fathom notetakers from your domain from recording a single meeting.

Before April 2025, this was based on who clicked “record” or auto-recorded first. Now, it’s determined by which bot is admitted from the waiting room and actually starts recording.

This does not apply to unscheduled meetings.

Note: The “Meeting Organizer” setting applies even if the meeting organizer does not have a Fathom account.

Bot Name

You can set a custom name for your team’s Fathom notetaker. This name will appear as the notetaker’s display name in all meetings.

Admins can customize the Fathom Notetaker bot name at the organization level using a dynamic variable.

  • When editing the bot name, you'll see a tip about using {name} to insert the user’s first name automatically.

    • Example: Setting the bot name to Notetaking by %{NAME} will display Notetaking by Maria for a user named Maria.

    • If a user doesn't have a first name listed, Fathom will use their email address instead.

  • If no custom name is set, the default bot name will be “(NAME)'s Fathom Notetaker.”

  • Admins can reset the bot name to the default at any time by clicking Revert to Default.

Transcription Dictionary

You can add company-specific terms—like product names, acronyms, or industry slang—to help improve transcription accuracy across your team's calls. These keywords ensure Fathom captures your unique vocabulary more consistently.

For more details on how to set this up, please read the article Transcription Dictionary.

Access Controls

Team Visibility of Meetings

Visibility determines which internal users can see captured meetings by default. Admins can configure visibility separately for External, Internal, and Unscheduled meetings. They can also control whether users can change a meeting’s visibility after the default setting is applied (on a per meeting basis).⁠

You can choose the following organization defaults for External, Internal, and Unscheduled Meetings:

  • All Teams: Visible to members of any team

  • User’s Team: Visible to owner’s teammates (and anyone else who has been granted visibility into that team's meetings)

  • Private (No teams): Only the owner can view

  • User Choose: Members set their default visibility

For more information about Team Visibility settings — including the how External, Internal, and Unscheduled Meetings are defined as well as how Organization and Team settings work together — please refer to our article on Manage Auto-Capture and Team Visibility Settings.

Default Share Link Access

Share links appear on individual call pages — they allow users to share individual calls or call highlights with others. This is great for sharing calls externally with people who are not part of your Fathom account.

On the Organization Settings page, Admins can set the default for these share links to one of the following:

  • Users Choose

  • Anyone with the link can view

  • Anyone @yourdomain can view

  • Only people added can view

Restrict Anonymous Recording Access (Enterprise plan only)

Related to the Default Share Link Access setting is the option to Restrict Anonymous Recording Access. This setting disables the "Anyone with the link can view" option for individual calls and folders. When toggled on, you'll be prompted to choose which access permissions should be applied to existing recordings and folders. Restricting recording access will update permissions for all recordings and folders in your workspace currently set to "Anyone with the link can view."

Single Sign-On Configuration (Enterprise plan only)

Need help setting up SSO for your team? Check out our article on Configuring SAML 2.0 with Okta for everything you need to get started.

Integrations

Fathom integrations connect your meeting content to the tools your team already uses, helping reduce manual follow-up after calls. Depending on the integration, Fathom can sync call summaries, action items, highlights, recordings, or meeting data to another system.

HubSpot

The HubSpot integration automatically sends Fathom meeting summaries, action items, recording links, and key deal insights to HubSpot. Fathom uses meeting attendee details to associate the call with the relevant HubSpot Contact, Company, and open Deal records. Action items created in Fathom can also be sent to HubSpot as tasks. Once a call is synced to Hubspot, any changes in Fathom (e.g., new highlights, etc) will automatically update the Call Summary in Hubspot.

Salesforce

The Salesforce integration automatically logs Fathom call summaries to matching Salesforce records, such as Contacts, Accounts, and open Opportunities. After a meeting, Fathom matches attendees to the relevant Salesforce records and creates a call activity/task with the meeting notes attached. Action items created during or after a call can also be sent to Salesforce as tasks. Depending on your sync settings, calls may sync automatically after each meeting or require a manual sync.

Zapier

The Zapier integration lets you use Fathom meeting events to trigger automated workflows in other apps. Once connected, you can create Zaps that run when specific Fathom events occur, such as when a meeting is recorded, a summary is available, or an action item is created. Zapier can be used to send meeting summaries to Slack, route action items to task management tools, update CRM fields, or move Fathom meeting data into other systems your team uses.

Slack

The Slack integration lets users send Fathom highlights, Alerts, and Trackers to selected Slack channels in near real-time. This is useful for sharing customer feedback, competitive intelligence, or other key moments with teammates while the conversation is still fresh. Slack channels must be public in order to connect.

Compliance

Auto Request Recording Consent

You can choose whether Fathom should automatically send consent emails to your meeting attendees.

For details on when consent emails are sent and who receives them, check out this article on Automatically Requesting Recording Consent.

Retention Period (Enterprise plan only)

Automatically delete recordings, transcripts, and summaries after a set amount of time.
For more details on how this works, check out this article on Retention Policies in Fathom.

Disable Recording Download (Enterprise plan only)

This prevents users from downloading recorded meetings.

Disable Recording Deletion (Enterprise plan only)

This prevents users from deleting recorded meetings.

Disable Bot-Free Capture

Admins can disable bot-free capture for their organization. When this setting is turned on, all team members will capture meetings using the Fathom Notetaker bot, regardless of their individual capture mode preferences.

Bot-free capture options will appear greyed out in the Fathom app with a tooltip explaining that they were disabled by an admin.

This setting applies organization-wide, including to admins.

Who can see team members’ shared calls? (Legacy Setting)

Choose from Everyone or just Team Admins. Each team member can still choose to keep calls private!

Note: If your team has already set this visibility to Everyone, this setting will no longer appear in your Team Settings. It will only be visible if the current setting is Team Admins only.