Managing Team Members and Users

Edited

The Users tab in Fathom is only visible to Admins of Team plan accounts.

Inviting Team Members

  1. Navigate to the Users tab in Settings.

  2. Click on the Invite Team Members button:

  1. Enter the email address(es) you'd like to invite to your Team in Fathom. Be sure to hit Enter after each address:

  1. You can select the user role (Admin or Standard) and Team membership for the new user.

  1. Click Send Invites

When you invite someone to join your workspace:

  • They’ll appear under a new Invitees tab

  • They’ll receive an email invitation so they can get started with setting up their account

Once they accept, they’ll be moved into the active Users list.

Re-inviting Team Members

If a team member hasn't accepted their invitation yet, you can resend it from the Invitees tab in Settings.

  1. Navigate to the Invitees tab next to Users in Settings.

  2. Find the pending member and click Re-send invite.

  3. They'll receive a new invitation email to get started.

Auto-Join Workspace

Auto-Join Workspace lets people using your organization’s email domain join your Fathom workspace without an individual invitation. Joining is optional. Turning this setting on doesn’t automatically add everyone to your workspace.⁠

  • New to Fathom? Eligible users will be given the option to join your organization’s workspace during onboarding.

  • Already using Fathom? Eligible users can sign in and open the Team Calls tab to complete the join process.

Admins can choose which teams are available through Auto-Join Workspace. When someone joins without an assigned team, they can select only from the teams you’ve approved. This lets employees join without an individual invitation while preventing them from selecting a sensitive team they shouldn’t belong to.⁠

Managing Team Member Roles and Access

To the right of a user's name, you’ll find a Permissions menu (gear icon) and an overflow menu (3 vertical dots) where you can manage their access and role.

From there, you can:

  • Change their level of access in Fathom (None, Team Admin, or Account Admin)

    • Moving team members to free seats is only available on our legacy plans (Standard and Pro).

  • Change their View access to meetings (Only their meetings, Their team, Multiple teams, All teams)

  • Deactivate or Remove a user from the team. See the section below on "Removing vs. Deactivating Team Members" to understand the difference between these two actions.

Additional capabilities for Team Admins

When a Standard user is assigned Team Admin access (i.e., they can manage settings for one or more teams), they have expanded controls on calls that are shared with them.

Visibility on teammates’ calls

Team admins can update external recording visibility on calls owned by other team members. When viewing a teammate’s call, a team admin can adjust who outside the organization can view the recording, even if this overrides the default organization or team settings.

Elevated permissions on teammates’ calls

When calls are automatically shared with Team Admins based on organization/team visibility settings, Team Admins can now:

  • Share the call and manage share links

  • Edit call details (title, description, etc.)

  • Sync the call to your CRM

  • Adjust team visibility settings

  • Manage notes and assign action items

Removing vs. Deactivating Team Members

  • Deactivate Ex-Employee: They will no longer be able to log in to Fathom, but all of their recordings will remain accessible to your team. Deactivated users will also appear in a separate tab next to Invitees.

  • Removing from Team: They will be removed from your team instantly. Any shared recordings will also be removed and will no longer be accessible to others.

  • 💡 Need to transfer or share access to someone’s recordings? Our Support Team can share their entire call library with all teams or just their assigned team — reach out to us at help@fathom.video!

If your account was mistakenly deactivated, please reach out to your team admin for assistance. Only admins have the ability to reactivate or remove accounts. If for any reason you’re unable to contact them, feel free to reach out to us directly and we’ll be happy to help!